SCHOOL

What is school?  Why do I go to school? Why do you go to school? what  does school have to offer you and me? These are questions we ask ourselves at one point in time in our lives. there are times we feel school is just a waste. I haven’t travelled the world to know if this feeling is universal but I know that’s how my cousin and I feel. As well as my neighbor next door.

I hate the idea of having to learn on someone’s schedule. On the average I do things better at my own pace. I hate the idea of my worth or relevance being based on a test. I hate the idea of having to rush in my studies in order to catch up with my friends. It’s not like the world is coming to an end. I hate the idea of learning what others think I should learn instead of learning what I want to learn when I want to learn. I hate the idea of having to sit in class quietly while watching someone else do all the talking. I’m an interactive learner for God’s sake. I hate the very main idea that when you don’t go to class society sees you as a delinquent. Your teaches get mad and probably punish you. I hate the idea of your peers calling you all sort of names because you couldn’t answer the teacher’s question. In short school kills spirit.

Unfortunately this is the nature of school in Ghana.it has been this way for a long time. I guess its safe to say some do understand how school should be like and are doing everything possible to make it that way. however the effort isn’t enough

It’s not that I hate school. I just despise some of the methods adopted in a place meant for all to go and gather knowledge. After all it is the education that’s important not school. Yes they are completely different things.

An education is not how much you have commited to memory or even how much you know.It's being able to differentiate between what you do know and what you don't.It's knowing where to go to find out what you need to know;and it's knowing how to use the information once you get it.
 -William Feather.
Leave a Reply

